Skip to content

Musk Ox – Entre la Terre et le ciel, les Nuages et la neige, le Soleil et les Arbres.

May 7, 2010
  • Label: Self-released.
  • Year: 2008.
  • Style: Acoustic folk.
  • Format: CDR.

This 2008 demo from the Canadian one-man project MUSK OX pretty much proves what I wrote in my review of his first album.  Nathanael is THE most promising act that travels the path of ULVER (”Kveldssanger”), OCTOBER FALLS and those bands, you know what I’m talking about.
This demo is divided into three parts, the first one contains six tracks from 2006, the other one from 2007 and you might have guessed that the third part contains the most recent material, making a total of 18 tracks bound together by nice nature atmospheres and field recordings. The demo is purely acoustic and overall instrumental with the exception of some choiring in the later tracks.
Everything I stated in the review of his self-titled album could also be said about this release; Nathanael plays the nylon strings flawless, he has created some of the most enchanting melodies from that side of the Atlantic sea ever and the tracks never fails to impress or interest me. Especially the third part of the disc is a very fresh wind, even for MUSK OX, with a slight different song structure and a more ”lush” sound rooted in the decision to place the instruments that are usually in the background up front.

A funny thing a friend said; ”I like this, it’s very relaxing and soothing. Maybe if I could mix in some dolphin singing in it, I could use it for my yoga classes.” – I don’t know how Nathanael feels about that, but that his music is of a relaxing character is a fact.

Well, great music for sure, but the thing I love the most about this demo is the artwork. The cover, as you might see, is a hand-painted picture (with a nostalgic scent of crayons) of a winter landscape, snowy tree tops and a cold, blue sky. The back has the same mountains, the same lake and trees, only in a summer dress. That is pretty much what MUSK OX is about, the beauty of nature and the changing of seasons.

If I didn’t convince you before, I might do it now. Take my word if you are a fan of acoustic guitar music; MUSK OX won’t let you down. If the typical “Kveldssanger” sound appeals to you, then you have really nothing to worry about if you decides to give MUSK OX a chance. It’s not quite as dark maybe, which is certainly not a bad thing, just a statement. I’m sure we’ll read about Nathanael in the major music zines in the future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2015 10:08 pm

    I really co’undlt ask for more from this article.

Leave a comment